Writing for fun

Grace is a gift – What do you do to keep it?

The more I learn about grace the more I realise how much harder it is when you really understand the meaning of grace. Louie Giglio one of my favourite teachers has this message on grace and he said grace is not a free ticket that is stamped by Jesus when you do something wrong. Most of us and including me think I can keep on sinning and just come back the next day to get the free stamp. But grace is not a free ticket. Jesus gave His life so we can have grace. Hebrew 10:26 the NLT says it the best for me. Go read up on it. Like I said the more I learn about grace just by trying to be more like Jesus I realise how hard it actually is. If we say we want to be more like Jesus it means we have to be holy and without sin. The Father is merciful and He won’t relent until He has your whole heart.

It really takes everything of you to live in grace and to try to be holy as Jesus. But we are of a sinful nature and the devil doesn’t like that we walk in absolute freedom and favour. Jesus gave us His everything, the Father gave His One and only Son so we can walk like He did. We also have the Holy Spirit in us. I know it is not easy to give up the pleasures of this world, but I must say the pleasure I had by just giving everything I have back to Jesus and allowing Him to work in me. I believe that having grace is God at work. He works on our character to make us more like Him. Gal 5: 22-23.

Since the beginning of the year God has been giving me a scripture and this week he gave it again. At this moment I am not sure how it ties in but I am sure this is something we can give our ear to. Rom 5:4-5: “And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead us to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us. Because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with His love.”

I felt the last couple of weeks that I need to do my part. We need to give our hearts to Him and make sure we do our part and be ready. I believe if we have received His grace we need to practice grace. It not just for free.

 

Leave a Reply

